Information for Farmers

 

Produce donations help the Food Bank distribute nutritious foods to Delawareans in need. We accept produce growers, farmers and backyard gardeners!

radish8Backyard gardening does not have to be difficult! Experienced growers can plant large in-ground gardens and raised gardens, while newcomers can start with small container gardens. To learn more about gardening, please visit the Cooperative Extension’s website, by clicking here.

Surplus produce can be donated directly to Delawareans in need. Donations can be dropped off to the Food Bank’s warehouse in Newark or Milford, Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Wondering what to grow or donate?

Summer Crops:

  • Peppers (banana peppers, bell peppers, etc.)
  • Eggplant
  • Swiss Chard
  • Cucumbers
  • Green Beans
  • Squash/Zucchini
  • Tomato
  • Okra
  • Brussel Sprouts
  • Beets
  • Herbs (rosemary, basil, parsley, cilantro, thyme, etc.)
  • Melons
  • Strawberries
  • Blueberries
  • Raspberries/Blackberries

Cool Season Crops:

  • Kale
  • Spinach
  • Lettuce
  • Cabbage
  • Radishes
  • Turnips
  • Arugula
  • Mustard Green
  • Collard Greens
  • Carrots
  • Kohlrabi
  • Bok Choy
  • Peas
  • Cauliflower

Produce Donation Sites: 

Agency name: The Salvation Army
Contact: Chrystal Kirby
Phone: (302) 472-0764
Email: chrystal.kirby@use.salvationarmy.org
Address: 104 West 5th Street, Wilmington, DE 19801
Hours the public can drop off donations: Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM

Agency name: Lake Forest Church Assoc. Inc.
Contact: Carol Kalinofski
Phone: (302) 398-4334
Email: lfcapantry18@comcast.net
Address: 102 Dorman Street, Harrington, DE 19952
Hours the public can drop off donations: Tuesday, Wednesday, or Thursday from 9:00 AM to 11:00 AM

Agency name: Community Solutions
Contact: Darryl Olive or Stacie Bailey
Phone: (302) 660-8691
Email: dolive@csimail.org or sbrown@csimail.org
Address: 1421 Marsh Road, Wilmington, DE 19802 (one block behind Gander Hill prison)
Hours the public can drop off donations: Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 9:00 PM

Agency name: People’s Place
Contact: Paula Sapp
Phone: (302) 422-8033 ext 170
Email: psapp@peoplesplace2.com
Address: 1129 Airport Road, Milford, DE 19963
Hours the public can drop off donations: Monday through Friday from 8:30 AM to 4:00 PM

Agency name: DeLaWarr State Service Center
Contact: Ms. Tiffany Lewis
Phone: (302) 622-4506
Email: tiffany.lewis@delaware.gov
Address: 500 Rogers Road, New Castle, DE 19720
Hours the public can drop off donations: Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM to 2:00 PM

Agency name: Nanticoke Senior Center
Contact: Fran Todd
Phone: (302) 629-4939
Email: fran.todd@nanticokeseniorcenter.com
Address: 1001 West Locust Street, Seaford, DE 19973
Hours the public can drop off donations: Monday through Friday from 7:00 AM to 4:00 PM

Agency name: Lutheran Community Services- Choice Pantry
Contact: Heather Mackson
Phone: (302) 690-5648
Email: hmackson@lcsde.org
Address: 2809 Baynard Boulevard, Wilmington, DE 19802
Hours the public can drop off donations: Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM

Agency name: Lutheran Community Services- St. Stephen’s
Contact: Heather Mackson
Phone: (302) 690-5648
Email: hmackson@lcsde.org
Address: 1301 North Broom Street, Wilmington, DE 19806
Hours the public can drop off donations: Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM

Agency name: Appoquinimink SSC
Contact: Valerie Bradshaw or Dena Brown
Phone: (302) 696-3125
Email: Valerie.bradshaw@delaware.gov
Address: 122 Silver Lake Road, Middletown, DE 19709
Hours the public can drop off donations: Monday through Friday from 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM

Agency name: Clarence Street Church of God
Contact: Judy Vathis or Veronica Camper
Phone: (302) 396-1342
Email: clarencestreetcog@gmail.com
Address: PO Box 817, Seaford, DE 19973
Hours the public can drop off donations: Tuesday and Thursday from 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM

Agency name: Community Resource Center
Contact: Jo Allegro-Smith or Dianne Shearon
Phone: (302) 227-1340
Email: jallegrosmith@rehobothcommunitycenter.org
Address: 37510 Oyster House Road, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Hours the public can drop off donations: Monday through Wednesday from 10:00 AM to 12:30 PM

Agency name: Laurel State Service Center
Contact: Ella Collins or Angela Yingling
Phone: (302) 875-8402
Email: Ella.Collins@delaware.gov
Address: 31039 North Poplar Street, Laurel, DE 19956
Hours the public can drop off donations: Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM to 3:00 PM

Agency name: Smyrna School District
Contact: Roger Holt or Rosemary Mast or Meggon McNatt
Phone: (302) 653-3134
Email: roger.holt@smyrna.k12.de.us or rosemary.mast@smyrna.k12.de.us or Meggon.mcnatt@smyrna.k12.de.us
Address: North Smyrna Elementary School, 365 North Main St, Smyrna, DE 19977
Hours the public can drop off donations: Monday through Friday from 9:30 AM to 2:00 PM

Agency name: Division of State Service Centers
Contact: Kathy Bullock or Tracy Passwaters
Phone: (302) 515-3004
Email: Kathy.bullock@delaware.gov or Tracy.passwaters@delaware.gov
Address: Adams SSC 546 South Bedford Street, Georgetown, DE 19947
Hours the public can drop off donations: Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Agency name: Latin American Community Center, Inc.
Contact: Steve Villanueva
Phone: (302) 218-9524
Email: svillanueva@thelatincenter.org
Address: 403 North Van Buren Street, Wilmington, DE 19805
Hours the public can drop off donations: Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Agency name: Laurel Elementary School
Contact: Donna Ward
Phone: (302) 875-6140
Email: donna.ward@laurel.k12.de.us
Address: 815 South Central Avenue, Laurel, DE 19956
Hours the public can drop off donations: Tuesdays from 7:30 AM to 12:30 PM

Agency name: Eisenberg Elementary Food Pantry
Contact: Molly Perdue
Phone: (302) 429-4046 or (302) 743-5176 (cell)
Email: molly.perdue@delaware.gov
Address: 27 Landers Lane, New Castle, DE 19720
Hours the public can drop off donations: Mondays from 8:00 AM to 3:30 PM

Agency name: Newark Area Welfare Committee
Contact: Jean Hedrich
Phone: (302) 547-7196
Email: jahedrich@comcast.net
Address: Newark United Methodist Church, 69 East Main Street, Newark 19711 (Note: To avoid Main Street construction, please access the church parking lot from Delaware Ave; the parking lot is between the public parking at The Galleria and Barnes and Noble.)
Hours the public can drop off donations: Monday through Thursday from 2:00 PM to 3:00 PM

 

To learn more about produce donations, please contact:

Ed Matarese
Food Sourcing Manager
ematarese@fbd.org 
(302) 444-8072